Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate

Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate


It's already 2 days I saw the weird interface of unencrypted facebook page. Facebook phishing while using freegate, did freegate did this? or they have been hacked by someone or government to serve the phishing page? hmm no one knows about it ๐Ÿ™‚

This happen yesterday August 30, 2013 when I open my facebook account, usually I always use the "remember me" feature that will store the cookies on our computer so we don't need to do log in process every time we open facebook. But yesterday is different, when I type facebook.com on browser address bar, the address not redirect to the https://facebook.com, but the page redirected to http://www.facebook.com.gos.saveinter.net/.

In this post we will try to analyze about this fake facebook page.

Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate

1. This is the interface screenshot when this morning I open facebook.com this morning.

Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate

see the URL carefully, it's not from facebook but from another domain called saveinter.net.

2. The second step we try to find out who is actually saveinter.net? after whoIS-ing on this web page http://whois.domaintools.com/saveinter.net, we got some information about this domain.

Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate

In the meta description written there the dongtaiwang (using the chinese character), it is the company that provide the Freegate. The logo in the website title is also the company that provide freegate for free.

3. Because I still can't believe that this freegate company doing facebook phishing to their users, I try to look at to servers stats and find out is it real the freegate?.

Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate

Ouch!! yes it come from freegate servers…

4. I still have the positive thinking, maybe there's someone who impersonating the freegate and act looks like them. So I try to check my public ip address when using freegate service by visiting whatismyipaddress.com web page.

Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate

5. Again….I still can't believe about all of this, I just says to myself that "I hope they are in different network address" ๐Ÿ˜›

Now I start to surf to http://whois.arin.net and check whether they are in the same network or different network. And here is the result.

Facebook Phishing while Using Freegate

Ouch!! yes they are the one who did facebook phishing on freegate network, on their own network.

Here is the video while we do the step by step checking the validity of the domain:


1. Watch carefully the address bar URL while you're surfing and browsing the website. If there's something wrong or mistype on the address bar URL, just leave it and do not continue.

2. For the facebook page that phished by freegate, you can bypass it by adding https:// to the prefix of the address, so it become https://www.facebook.com. Again…just make sure the address bar URL is correct.

3. Oops!! I've already input my username and password there ๐Ÿ˜›. Quickly change your username and password as soon as possible, and change all the password if your facebook password was the same with your e-mail password.

Hope it's useful ๐Ÿ™‚

(Visited 984 times, 1 visits today)

Share this article if you found this post was useful:

Hacking Tutorial, Tips and Trick

See all posts by || Visit Website : https://www.hacking-tutorial.com

  • sara

    i had this same problem too and i use “https:// ” and it totally works. thankiyoo

    do you think i should not use freegate anymore?

    • v4L


      yes of course you can still use freegate, but if the page you visit is an authentication page and they’re not use https, it’s better don’t use freegate.

      if you want to authenticate using freegate, make sure the web page is https ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Nganga Zack

    Thanks a lot for the heads up. I noticed this also and was just looking to see when you posted about it.

  • asdf

    Thanks for the info, I was also surprised to see a phishing page using freegate.
    I hope freegate people will fix this soon…

  • alijanlou

    hi, how we can create Facebook Phishing by Freegate that is used in our network by the others?

  • hamid

    facebook is sencored in iran if we want to access to that we need to use freegate or other devices but the freegate is phishing how can i access?? help

    • v4L


      see conclusion

  • NetMgr

    Hi all,
    I contacted this morning to freegate and they told this is not phishing but fore prevent confusion , we disabled the page you mentioned for now.
    but as you may know , proxy service is not safe , it could be worse than you think.

    • v4L


      Since when because of confusion you create the new page and make all the URL looks alike the real one?without any message and notification that “this page to prevent confusion”?

      Yes proxy server wasn’t safe at all especially when use it in a plain HTTP connection, but it still quite useful in a encrypted connection(for now – IMO)…

      • NetMgr

        Of course
        it’s not usual , they must notify that before any action .
        yes https still secure but still sniff encrypted data is probable!

        • v4L


          Of course you can sniff the data and even you can get the encrypted data…but the problem is they can’t crack it in a short time (for now – IMO)….take a look this nice video : http://www.digicert.com/TimeTravel/ That’s why I said use the free proxy to access SSL page it’s still quite useful ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Raymond

    Thanks. I saw it the other day and I could not figure out why it was there. And yes I put my info in there. FYI – just because you only have a few comments does not mean people are not reading. Cause if I as a not so bright computer savvy read everyone else did too. And freegrate should tell people if they are doing something like this to “protect” its customers.

  • az

    Thank you very much,it was sooo helpful!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Just surf into saveinter.net.. It is the same page that gets loaded when freegate connects, DYNAWEB.. And clearly written they are checking a new proxy method. Don’t think it is phishing…

  • ehsan

    hi body. that was so usefull thank u so much.

  • Nielsen02

    Contact codelordexx@gmail.com for any sort of hack job . He’s well experienced , reliable and trustworthy with his jobs and currently one of best around . A trial will convince you